Get Connected
  • facebook
  • twitter

Three new councilmen take oaths



Kanawha County Commissioner Dave Hardy was on hand as three new members of St. Albans City Council were sworn in.

Newcomers John Caudill, Jason Philabaun and Garry Pennington were sworn in Monday evening, along with returning council members Loretta Griffith, Desper Lemon, Cheryl Thomas, Jerry Cogar, Kevin Pennington, John Boles, Dan Cain Sr., Ron Colby and Robert Keiffer.

Caudill succeeds Helen Warren, filling one of three council-at-large seats. Warren did not run for re-election.

Philabaun, 28, succeeds Lee Roberts representing Ward 2. Philabaun defeated incumbent Roberts in the primary and did not have an opponent in the June general election.

Pennington now represents Ward 9. He succeeds Stephen Donelson, who did not run for re-election.

All of the council members were sworn in by Roger Hughes, a local government specialist in state Treasurer John Perdue's office. Mayor Dick Callaway said Hughes swore him in on Thursday.

Hughes said Monday evening, "This is one of the best, well-run cities I know of. You should be proud of what's been done here and you should be proud of this mayor."

Hardy brought greetings from Kanawha Commission President Kent Carper and Commissioner Hoppy Shores.

"St. Albans is an easy town for us," Hardy said. "You do such a good job down here. We have enjoyed being your partner. We have enjoyed the relationship the county commission has with the council."

Also at the meeting, Councilwoman Griffith nominated Kevin Pennington for vice mayor and Dan Cain nominated Ron Colby. Kevin Pennington won by a 9-to-3 vote. He succeeds Helen Warren and will fill in for Callaway when necessary.

In other action, Callaway swore in Dwight Meadows, 22, the city's newest patrolman. Meadows is a certified paramedic. Meadows also has joined the St. Albans Fire Department.

"We are more than happy to have him join our force," Callaway said.

Callaway also swore in City Attorney Charles "Chuck" Riffee and Clerk-Treasurer Barbara Cunningham.

The mayor appointed the following department heads, which were approved by council: Steve Parsons, fire chief; Mike Matthews, police chief; Scott Tweedy, parks superintendent; Orville Browning, public works director; Kathy Barnett, senior services director; and Charles Roberts, building and zoning official.

The mayor appointed Boles, Caudill and Kevin Pennington to the council's Finance Committee, with Boles serving as chairman; appointed Cain as the council's representative on the Housing Authority; appointed Kevin Pennington, Jason Philabaun and Loretta Griffith to the Parks and Recreation Committee, with Pennington serving as chairman; appointed Cogar and Colby to the Municipal Utility Commission; named Cogar, Colby, Garry Pennington and Keiffer to the Annexation Committee, with Cogar serving as chairman; named Desper Lemon as council's representative on the Planning and Zoning Commission; named Boles, Kevin Pennington, Garry Pennington, Lemon and Philabaun to the Public Safety Committee, with Boles serving as chairman.

In addition, the mayor appointed Cogar, Lemon and Kevin Pennington to the Public Works Committee, with Cogar serving as chairman; named Cogar, Garry Pennington, Philabaun and Lemon to the Ordinance Committee, with Cogar serving as chairman; appointed Griffith, Garry Pennington and Cain to the Senior Board, with Griffith serving as chairwoman; named Jerry Cogar as council's representative on the STARDA board; appointed Thomas to the Property Board, the Downtown Historic District Committee and the Saint Albans Convention and Visitors Bureau; appointed Cogar and Colby to serve as council's representatives on the Storm Water Management board; and appointed Cain to the Friends of the Alban Committee.

Callaway also filled slots on the Personnel Grievance Committee, with Clerk-Treasurer Cunningham to serve as chair, named members of the Personnel Policy Committee; and appointed Cunningham as the administrative representative to the Planning and Zoning Commission.

Council approved the designation of Chapman Technical Group as the city's engineer.

During the meeting, Callaway presented certificates of appreciation to Pat and Lionel North for voluntarily picking up litter on Pennsylvania Avenue for 35 years. Several volunteers who assist them also attended the meeting. Callaway presented them with lunch bags and two six-packs of bottled water. Callaway joked, "Whatever you do, don't throw the bottles down!"

City offices will be closed Thursday in observance of Independence Day. The next council meeting will be held 7:30 p.m. July 15 in the city building on Sixth Avenue.



User Comments