Get Connected
  • facebook
  • twitter

Russell, Callaway win in St. Albans primary

Scott Russell will challenge incumbent St. Albans Mayor Dick Callaway in the city's general election in June.

Voters chose their mayoral candidates from two parties, the People's Party and the Citizen's Party, during a primary election Saturday.

Callaway, of the Citizen's Party, received 722 votes and Russell, of the People's Party, got 88 votes.

Callaway defeated Pete McCusky from the Citizen's Party by 330 votes. Russell defeated Mike Eakle and Tim Watts of the People's Party. Eakle received 53 votes while Watts got 43.

Three candidates advanced to the general election for the council-at-large seats. Incumbent John D. Caudill IV, John Boles, and Jerry C. Cogar beat out Matt Kelly.

In the second ward, Jason Philabaun got 27 more votes than Lee Roberts, both of the Citizen's Party.

For Citizen's Party candidates in the sixth ward, Incumbent Loretta Griffith bested Patricia Withrow, by 28 votes.

Garry Pennington defeated Eva Robinson-Mayes and Shelly Ellis in the ninth ward for the Citizen's Party.

The remainder of the primary election was made up of incumbent candidates running unopposed from the Citizen's Party: Robert Keiffer in the first ward; Ron Colby in the third ward; Cheryl Thomas in the fourth ward; Dan Cain Sr. in the fifth ward; Desper Lemon in the seventh ward; and Kevin W. Pennington in the eighth ward.


User Comments