Get Connected
  • facebook
  • twitter

Attorney General-elect names transition team

Attorney General-elect Patrick Morrisey has named a transition team of prominent state lawyers, including several state legislators, as he prepares to take office in January.

The steering committee will be divided into working groups for process and planning, personnel and policy.  

Named co-chairpersons were Mark A. Carter of Dinsmore & Shohl in Charleston and Patrick R. Esposito II of Morgantown, a technology entrepreneur, attorney and former deputy general counsel to the governor.    

"We have assembled a strong steering committee of leaders to help ensure that we are ready to serve the citizens of West Virginia on inauguration day," Morrisey said in a press release.

"The steering committee includes Republicans and Democrats, current and former elected officials, trial lawyers and defense attorneys, business leaders and labor union members, among others.

Members include:

* Julia Chico Abbitt of the Jackson Kelly law firm's Morgantown offices.  

* House Minority Leader Tim Armstead, R-Kanawha.   

* Ben Bailey of the Charleston law firm of Bailey & Glasser.

* State Sen. Donna Boley, R-Pleasants.

* Michael Caryl of the Bowles Rice law firm's Martinsburg offices.  

* Bill Cole, a Bluefield automobile dealer and incoming state senator.  

* Steve Connolly, attorney for the city of Hurricane and assistant prosecuting attorney in Putnam County.

* Stephen Crislip of Jackson Kelly's Charleston offices.

* Delegate Walter Duke, R-Berkeley.  

* Eric Frankovitch of Frankovitch, Anetakis, Colantonio & Simon  in Weirton.

* Tom Graff of Bowles Rice in Charleston.

* Dan Greear of the Kesner, Kesner & Bramble law firm in Charleston.

* Stephen Groh, assistant prosecutor in Jefferson County.

* Roger Horton, president of Citizens for Coal and member of UMW Local 5958 in Logan.

* Rob Hoxton, CEO of HFI Wealth Management in Jefferson County.

* Betty Ireland, former West Virginia Secretary of State.

* State Sen. Evan Jenkins, D-Cabell, CEO of the West Virginia Medical Foundation.

* Charlotte Lane of the Charleston law firm of Shuman, McCuskey & Slicer and former member of the U.S. International Trade Commission.

* Debra McLaughlin, prosecuting attorney in Morgan County.

* Gaylene Miller, state director for the AARP.

* John Shott of Shott Gurganus & Williamson in Mercer County and incoming member of the House of Delegates.

* Delegate Erikka Kerr Storch, R-Ohio, CFO of Ohio Valley Steel Co.  

* Robert Steptoe Jr. of the Steptoe & Johnson law offices in Bridgeport.

* Beth Walker, deputy general counsel for West Virginia United Hospital System in Morgantown.


User Comments