Get Connected
  • facebook
  • twitter

Daily Mail's McGill named state's top sportswriter

By From staff reports

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Chuck McGill, sportswriter for the Charleston Daily Mail, has been voted the 2011 West Virginia Sportswriter of the Year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA).

McGill, a Charleston native who joined the Daily Mail staff in 2009, is a first-time winner of the award, which is voted on by state members of the NSSA.

State and national winners will be honored June 9-11 at the NSSA awards banquet in Salisbury, N.C.

McGill, 31, has covered Marshall University athletics and the West Virginia Power at the Daily Mail for three years. In August he won two writing awards from the West Virginia Press Association: first place for Best Sports Feature Writing and second place for Best Sports Columnist.  

McGill is a 1999 graduate of DuPont High and two-time graduate of West Virginia University. His wife, Lauren McGill, is the city editor at the Daily Mail.

A Daily Mail sportswriter has won three of the last five individual NSSA honors and seven of the last 10. Since the award's inception in 1959, there have been six NSSA winners from the Daily Mail: Dick Hudson, Bill Smith, Chuck Landon, Andy Spradling, Jack Bogaczyk and McGill.

The NSSA also recognizes a National Sportswriter of the Year and Sportscaster of the Year.

The nominees for National Sportswriter of the Year are Bill Simmons ( and Grantland), Bob Ryan (Boston Globe), Dan Wetzel (Yahoo! Sports), Gary Smith (Sports Illustrated), Joe Posnanski (Sports Illustrated), Pat Forde (! Sports), Peter King (Sports Illustrated), Rick Reilly ( and Tom Verducci (Sports Illustrated).  

The nominees for National Sportscaster of the Year are Al Michaels (NBC), Bob Costas (NBC/MLB Network), Dan Patrick (NBC/"The Dan Patrick Show"), Dan Shulman (ESPN), Gus Johnson (FOX/CBS/Big Ten Network), Jim Nantz (CBS), Joe Buck (FOX) and Mike Tirico (ESPN/ABC).

Those winners will be announced later this month, along with each state's Sportscaster of the Year and the organization's annual Hall of Fame inductees.



User Comments