Get Connected
  • facebook
  • twitter

Marshall men's basketball: Kane named to all-C-USA second team

By From staff reports

Marshall men's basketball junior DeAndre Kane has returned to the All-Conference-USA second team.

Kane, a guard, was named to the team Monday, as announced by the conference. It is his second straight all-conference second-team nod and the third straight year he's been part of one of the three all-conference teams. He was a third-team member the same season he was named C-USA freshman of the year.

He was a preseason all-conference first-team pick.

Kane averaged 7.1 assists in the regular season to lead C-USA and sit eighth in Division I. He also ranks 10th in scoring, averaging 14.9 points per game. He was named C-USA player of the week this season after a triple-double (33 points, 11 rebounds, 10 assists) in a double-overtime loss to Hofstra. 

Kane, the Thundering Herd's only representative on the three teams, is joined on the second team by the University of Central Florida's Keith Clanton, East Carolina's Miguel Paul, the University of Alabama at Birmingham's Rod Rucker and Tulane's Ricky Tarrant. The first team includes UCF's Isaiah Sykes, Memphis' Joe Jackson, ECU's Maurice Kemp, Tulane's Josh Davis, Southern Mississippi's Dwayne Davis and Houston's TaShawn Thomas.
The Herd (13-18) plays Tulane on Wednesday at 9:30 p.m. in the C-USA tournament's first round. 


User Comments